Competitions, News, POTY

Photographer of the Year – The Winning Images!

Back in April 2013 the club held its annual Photographer of the Year competition in lovely surroundings of the Lee Valley golf club. The Lee Valley proved to be an excellent venue for the event. The staff were very accommodating, the location was ideal and the food was first class!

This year’s event was sponsored by the Ballincollig Shopping Centre, Barker Photographic and O’Leary’s Camera World.  A very big thank you goes out to our sponsors who graciously donated spot prizes for the competition.

There were some great images on display and the night itself was a great occasion. The event is always a really nice way to end the club’s calendar year. Jason Town (AIPF) of the Cork Camera Group was on-hand to adjudicate the images for us. Jason did a fantastic job and provided excellent constructive feedback that both the club and the individual photographer will benefit from going forward.

The competition consisted of the following categories:

Grade 1 Photographer of the Year
Grade 2 Photographer of the Year
Grade 3 Photographer of the Year
Best Color Print
Best Monochrome Print
Theme-based Printed Panel


And now…the results!!!

The Theme-based Printed Panel category was won by Team “Human Form” who consisted of Catherine Desmond, Pierce Coady and Cian O’Mahony (AIPF). The team had to put together a panel of 10 printed images which showcased their interpretation of the Human Form theme. Congratulations to the team who came out on top with their panel of images.








The award for the Best Color Print and Best Monochrome Print categories were snapped up by Jason O’Sullivan (LIPF). The image and print quality of Jason’s images were second-to-none and it was easy to see why the judge picked these as the winning images. Congratulations to Jason for winning these categories! JOS_BCC_CLR_WEB JOS_BCC_BW_WEB


This year , the Photographer of the Year award for Grade 3 was awarded to Patrick Fox. Below was the panel of 3 images that won it for Patrick. Congratulations to Patrick on becoming this year’s Photographer of the Year for Grade 3.



The Photographer of the Year award for Grade 2 was awarded to Graham Daly (ASINWP). Below was the panel of 3 images that Graham had entered in order to win the category.

Finally, the Photographer of the Year award for Grade 1 was awarded to Cian O’Mahony (AIPF). Below was the panel of 3 images that Cian submitted and which won him the Photographer of the Year award for Grade 1 this year. Congratulations to Cian on winning the title for a second consecutive year!


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *